About Me

My photo
Cromer, Norfolk, United Kingdom

I'm a former hospital radio/club/mobile DJ, avid record collector and amateur musician (playing guitar, keyboards, recorder, harmonica and percussion.) I've even filled in on bass guitar for a couple of local bands as well (although that was quite a few years ago). Also interested in Motorsports, Wrestling/Mixed Martial Arts and Classic Television and Radio from the 1960s - 1980s.

Why am I on here? Well, I'm just trying to make some sense of life before it's too late...but who cares anyway?

Wednesday, 15 February 2012

A Period Of Adjustment

It's been just over a fortnight since I started my new job working for Derek at Retail Accounting Services in Sheringham, and it's been an eventful couple of weeks.  For the first couple of days I've been based at his house (where I've also had his pet dog, Archie for company.) before moving into our new offices opposite the North Norfolk Railway.

So far it's been pretty straightforward stuff, but if I do run into something I'm not too sure about, Derek's on hand with a few tips and pointers to make the work easier to understand.  I should point out at this stage that before I joined up, the closest I ever got to accounts was a Sage course I had been on at Sheringham Learning Centre.

I'm sure there will be a lot more I need to learn about the business, but that's the beauty of going into something you've never done before.  Derek has also talked about establishing an online presence in the future - the company website is constantly being developed, and there's even been talk about exploiting the various social networks, so there's a chance that I could get  involved on that side of things in the weeks and months to come.

By the way, if you're wondering about Archie...

...here he is! (He's now our unofficial Office Mascot!)